Cultivating a Healthy Mindset

Before I get into this blog post, I would just like to say one thing: I just realised I haven’t updated this blog in over 3 months, which was definitely not the plan I had in mind. I will be making sure to update it fortnightly with all sorts of content (i.e. photography, food, opinion pieces, articles etc.).


So this past year, I’ve been struggling a lot, especially with job hunting and friendships. But finally, I managed to get hired a few weeks ago at a reputable workplace. I’ve been hanging out with my high school friends and new friends that I’ve made a lot more within the past few months.

However, I still find myself comparing my life to other people and feeling like I’ve failed in being an adult in comparison to everyone else I know–which I’m aware is not a healthy attitude.

I’m so focused on reaching milestones that other people have already moved on from and focusing on the negativity that I let all the positive things that have happened on my journey slip from my mind.

Considering we live in the age of social media where narcissism and self-deprecation is at an all-time high, it’s important to not get caught up in our preconceptions of where we ought to be based off where everyone else is at in their journey. We all have our own, very different journies to go on for a reason. If more than one person was to walk down the same pathway, it would get awfully crowded, don’t you think?

Still, it can be admittedly difficult to be focused on ourselves and content with ourselves. If you struggle with this like I do, I would recommend spending more time with friends that share the same feelings as you so that you have someone to vent to and relate to. I would recommend focusing on your uni work and volunteer work as a way to distract yourself from those negative thoughts. Read a book, watch a TV show, listen to music and dance in your bedroom, take a walk in the park, whatever it is that helps you feel better about yourself, do it.

Most importantly, know that all progress, no matter how slow or quick, is progress. Be proud of how far you’ve come!


The featured image in this post is from here.

Leave a Reply

